Al Giordano’s unrequited love for Eva Golinger

Does Al have a crush on Eva?  Don’t ask me.  I haven’t a clue about his preferences, although one might argue that preferences and fixations are totally separate things.  It’s peculiar, is all I’m saying.  Interwoven in a rambling piece that makes many reasonable points about Venezuelan bureaucracy and Libyan wildman Muammar Gaddafi,    there are some extended, might we even say, screeching attacks on Golinger, coupled with some new but predictable complaints about Belarus and Telesur (guess Venezuela’s Information Ministry won’t bother with Narco News‘s j-school this year) and the usual infomercial about how nobody but Narco News knows how to do anything at all.  And then, this little embarrassing bit:

“…what could NATO possibly do to the Libyan people that Gaddafi isn’t already doing?”

Oh, quite a lot, I imagine.

Still and all, it’s a piece that will please Al’s ICNC sponsors.  See you in Madrid!

18 responses to “Al Giordano’s unrequited love for Eva Golinger

  1. My critiques of TeleSur and one of its commentators are well documented in my story. I have never met (and never tried to meet) Golinger. My critique of her “journalism of the state” is based on highly legitimate and important matters: the portrayal of the Egyptian resistance as “Made in USA,” the attacks last year on the CONAIE (Federation of Indigenous Ethnicities of Ecuador) as if somehow the original peoples of the continent are, according to Golinger’s McCarthyist spin, imperialist agents, her propaganda for Ahmedinejad (“gentle,” she told the NY Times, surely entering the vortex of a public space where it ought to be considered fair grist for critique from any direction) and Lukashenko (“kind,” she said). How does any of this constitute an “obsession”? Would the (anonymous) author of this childish rant say that my (much more frequent) critiques of US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, or Mexican President Felipe Calderon, or the coup regime of Honduras are obsessions borne of “unrequited love”? (And, really, isn’t the author being quite sexist him or her self here, by reducing serious and legitimate matters of press criticism to knowingly false and personalized cartoon versions of events?)

    Perhaps the author was one of the hundreds who applied to our School of Authentic Journalism but whom we regretfully did not have room for? Or, in the logic of this cheap and shoddy drive-by blog post, has an “unrequited love” for me? Is the author trying to please his or her own (undisclosed) “sponsors”? We’ll never know, because unlike those of us who proudly and honestly sign our names to our work, the author doesn’t offer readers any opportunity to conclude whether the conflicts of interest or personal obsessions are really his or her own.

    – Al Giordano
    narconews@gmail.com

    • Perhaps I was hasty. Because I’m sure we all agree that Simon Romero is a fine reporter who would never, ever, do a hatchet job on anyone.

      Would the (anonymous) author of this childish rant say that my (much more frequent) critiques of US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, or Mexican President Felipe Calderon, or the coup regime of Honduras are obsessions borne of “unrequited love”?

      Perhaps.

      A few clarifications:

      1. I have never applied to the Authentic School of ICNC Journalism. And probably never will. Please.

      2. I am my only sponsor.

      3. My true identity is completely uninteresting and of no importance to anyone.

      4. My own unrequited love? If I’m going to obsess fruitlessly over someone, I’ll take George Clooney or Javier Bardem, thanks. Not you.

  2. Well, fair enough: If I was being as snooty and intentionally false as you are being, I probably would refrain from signing my name to your words, too.

    I should correct you on one point though (since you “opened the door” to it): It was our story (the one you were so bothered about) that described Simon Romero of the NY Times as a “golpista” – we’ve criticized his terrible journalism a lot more than we’ve criticized Golinger’s, but maybe that is due to his “unrequited love” too? – and wondered aloud why any self-respecting Bolivarian would grant someone like that an interview for a profile. Here is what I wrote:

    “…ya think maybe the recent NY Times profile on Golinger (in which she vainly granted an interview to the known golpista reporter Simon Romero only to act surprised later on when it wasn’t as flattering as she had hoped: “The article makes me sound like some kind of propaganda queen for the Venezuelan government,” she doth protested too much) might have something to do with that impression? Here is an interesting passage from the puff-piece-gone-awry…</

    So it does seem a bit disingenuous on your part to pretend to lecture me on Romero: We made the point before you did. And what does it say about the TeleSur commentator’s judgment to grant a self-promoting interview to someone like that? Who is really harming the Bolivarian revolution here?

    – Al Giordano
    narconews@gmailcom

  3. Pleased to meet you, Machetera,

    I am sure that you could have plenty of fun arguing with Al all day but let me just butt in here for a second because I think your comments about the School of Authentic Journalism are simply misleading.

    When I am not responding to conspiracy theories online, I produce political satire lampooning the most absurd effects of U.S. foreign policy in Latin America (at http://www.gringoyo.com … I’m the guy with the pig. ) I also produce documentary films and report on social movements in Latin America for lots of outlets including both Narco News and yes, TeleSUR.

    I am also proud to say that I attended the School of Authentic Journalism as a student in 2004 and continue to participate as one of the coordinators of its video program.

    It’s no secret that the school receives funds from ICNC. And? The school receives most of its funding from hundreds of readers in the form of small donations. ICNC has no input on the work produced by participants of J-School, nor on the work of Narco News itself.

    Trying to say that the work of the school is compromised is an offense to the esteemed names of journalists like Noha Atef, whose blog “Torture In Egypt” became one of the first nails in the coffin of Mubarak’s U.S. funded dictatorial regime. Or Natalia Viana, one of Brazil’s most respected authentic journalists, who has done more than anyone else to bring the details of wikileaks intercepted cables to a Portuguese speaking audience in Brazil and beyond. Or Bill Conroy, who blew the lid off direct U.S. military intervention in Mexico’s so-called “War on Drugs,” even months and years before the wikileaks cables confirmed his reporting.

    If you somehow believe that these fine and dare I say radical individuals are part of a vast conspiracy to undermine the Bolivarian Revolution (a project that I, and many other journalists, Al included, continue to support) then I recommend that you go out and get a job with Dr. No to think up new and improved far-fetched schemes to kill James Bond.

    Best,

    Gringoyo

    • Dear Greg,

      I’m glad that you feel that your time at the Narco News j-school has been productive. I enjoy reading Bill Conroy. But let’s not be naive. Small donations included, NN is a business. ICNC is not giving its money to this business out of pure charity, no strings attached. They are getting something out of it, or else they’d put their money elsewhere. They didn’t get where they are by being idiots. Since there’s no daylight at all between Al’s beliefs and their own, it’s obviously a mutually beneficial relationship. There’s not a lot of daylight either between the ICNC and “citizen journalism” projects run out of the NED. Maybe one of these days Yoani Sánchez can be a guest of honor at an NN/ICNC workshop. Of course Cuba will have to let her out of the country first, but I have no doubt that Cuban security will approve that when the timing is just right.

      Al:

      Just stop already with the infomercials. I really couldn’t care less who first reported the amazing news that Simon Romero is a prick. Telesur has lots of correspondents, and a lot of good programming – it isn’t all about Eva. I’d be slightly more interested in hearing your defense of NATO intervention in Libya as a positive thing, but you’re going to have to leave the chest-thumping out of it, because it’s boring.

  4. Again, anonymous, you’re being intentionally dishonest. You lectured me here as if either I did not know Romero was an inauthentic simulator, or, worse, as if I were trying to hide it from our readers. And when I made the very reasonable correction pointing out that we have exposed Romero for years now, you accuse me of broadcasting “infomercials.” This is a coward’s game on your part: you invent false arguments, hiding behind a pseudonym, and then if anyone dares correct your fictions, accuse them of self promotion (rather than, say, defense of the facts).

    Not only would we never invite a dishonest person like Yoani Sanchez to the School of Authentic Journalism, your own willing commission of falsehoods would surely rule you out too. How about, instead of inventing fictional students at our school you judge the work of the more than 100 we actually have hosted and trained? Oh, wait: they, by and large, do excellent work. That would destroy your propaganda points, wouldn’t it?

    Finally, your use of an out of context quotation to claim I made a “defense of NATO intervention” is just plain sleazy as it is knowingly false. I don’t see it as something that is going to happen, but for your sake I’ll point out the obvious: I oppose any such thing, just I have opposed, vocally, every US military adventure in my lifetime. I’ve gone to prison opposing some of them (is that an “infomercial,” too, to refute a falsehood reminding of deeds rather than just words?). I imagine I will continue to do so all my life. My point – clear to anyone who read the full paragraph you mutilated so maliciously to invent a cheap propaganda point – was not to say “bring on a NATO invasion” (the Libyan people can topple their tyrant all by themselves, though maybe that’s a foreign idea to you, and related to your hostility to the International Center on Nonviolent Conflict promoting such notions), but, rather, to point out that the genocide Gaddafi is committing is already on the scale of a NATO invasion (only the uniforms – this time of mercenaries hired from Chad – are different). True revolutionaries oppose such actions whether from the empire or from a local tyrant, one that the US empire has gotten along swimmingly with in the past decade, since Gaddafi joined Bush’s “war on terror” and implemented capitalist economic “reforms” in his land, and it seems to me that all your obfuscation here indicates that your sympathies lie with those war crimes.

    • Al, do you have Machetera on speed-dial now? I must say, you’re awfully thin-skinned. I know you know that Romero is a shit. The question is why you would perceive my sarcastic remark about him as a “lecture”. I’m not lecturing anybody. But you can’t have it both ways. You can’t use Romero’s snark against Eva and also treat it as credible. It’s this “we have exposed X for years now” that is getting tiresome. You do it all the time, and I think you should stop. That’s not dishonest, it’s my opinion.

      I think your answer on NATO intervention is a fumble. And you’re probably right, Yoani has no need for NN. But her rhetoric parallels ICNC’s, and for that matter your own.

  5. I REALLY would like to talk about “…what could NATO possibly do to the Libyan people that Gaddafi isn’t already doing?”

    Eva is a good source sometimes, but not SO important as the plight of 6 millions of Libyans. After all horrors of NATO’s butchery of Iraq and Afghanistan, I am a bit startled by such invitation to do the same to Libya.

    Ahmadinejad could be not the best democrat in the world, but he has the support of the majority in his country, and , even more important, it is NOT like support for leaders of imperialist states, or support for Zionist criminal leaders.

    Not mentioning what NATO did to Yugoslavia, including Kosovo.

  6. Re: “Al, do you have Machetera on speed-dial now?”

    “Speed dial” is a service you invite people to obtain on this snotty propaganda sheet of yours. You’ve placed a little check box below the comment submission form that says “Notify me of follow-up comments via email.” But if someone uses it to be notified of your next falsehoods to come on a thread, you make them sound like some kind of stalker? (And wasn’t that the intent of the slimy inference that my highly political and journalistic critiques of a public figure are a matter of “obsession”?

    It’s not about “thin skin.” It’s that a lie can travel halfway around the world before the truth can put its pants on, so why would I let yours fester longer than it takes to type a correction? Every single comment you have made here has added additional falsehoods to your original ones, and if someone refutes them – which you purportedly invite people to do with a comments section – you play this little power-trippy game of attacking us for doing so.

    You call Narco News a “business.” I will note that it is your project that sells advertising and collects money for it. We don’t do that and never have. Perhaps your dependence on Google Ads causes you to make up fictions and read like the National Enquirer of the pseudo-left poseurs society, in order to increase hit counts. We don’t have that problem.

    You also have lots of “free advice” for how I should or should not do my work, telling me repeatedly “I think you should stop” doing one thing or another. I’m not impressed by your work, but I don’t tell you how to do it or not do it. What is fair, though, is that if you libel someone, his punctual response and correction should be something you understand that you invite, so don’t treat it as something it is not. It makes you look petty and, indeed, the fumbles here are evidently yours.

    You may not like how I do things, but at least you or anyone else can look at the entire body of work and deeds of someone who honestly publishes his work under his own name. I suspect your failure to do so indicates something to hide, but, whatever, carry on with your serial dishonesty and low moral character. If you could simply refrain from responding with yet another new falsehood to characterize me, I’ll be very happy to cease correcting you.

    – Al Giordano
    narconews@gmail.com

    • Al, I feel sorry for you. Constantly hunched over a screen, so as not to delay a nanosecond countering all the Lies. It’s no way to live. Speed-dial is an option; it’s not compulsory. And it’s not checking the box that I find odd – because I do it too, given the chance, otherwise I forget to check back. It’s the immediate reaction, as though you have absolutely nothing better to do and this is some kind of crisis. It’s not, really.

      I’m not surprised you don’t like my work, because as far as I can see, you have no sense of humor. This seems to happen fairly often on the left. I’m not sure why. But you can stop now too with the outrage. If I mock your interest in Eva Golinger, that’s no reason to suddenly accuse me of libel and low moral character. It’s a little absurd, don’t you think? Next thing you know, you’ll be accusing me of tortious interference with your business, for encouraging people to step back and think a little about your ICNC® bedfellows.

      You know very well that Google/Wordpress offers a free platform in return for random ad placement. Suggesting that I’m collecting any money personally or that I’m dependent on Google Ads based on what you see here is laughable. I’m not, actually, but it’s not a bad idea and maybe I’ll investigate it. But what’s your point anyway? Last I checked, we’re still living in a capitalist society. Unfortunately. So it’s my prerogative to paper my site with ads, or not, just as it is yours to eschew a 100% donor model for the easier path of larger sums from an institutional donor. We all have our business models. But I’m not the one endlessly promoting myself as the savior of radical journalism while insisting that a donor like ICNC® has nothing but goodness and charity at stake in a journalism training center, and even if they don’t, it’s irrelevant because unlike everyone else, state-owned or private, I have an iron wall between editorial and advertising sponsorship.

      Get real. Let Narco News® produce a substantively critical investigative piece about ICNC® (I know this will never happen because as I said previously, there is no daylight between the two of you anyway) that gains some wide distribution (that will be the other problem), and let’s see how many more workshops they bankroll for you in Madrid, how many luncheons at the Newseum® (did the irony of a luncheon for “radical journalists” at the Newseum ever occur to you?).

      I have to go out again, so tell you what, you can have the night off. Try to have some fun.

      Un abrazo – you seem like you need one.

  7. Libyan wildman? you may need a refresher courser on Gadaffi

    why has there been an absence of reporting on colonel Gadhafi’s social welfare schemes, which if anything have made Libyans lazy and not destitute?

    Colonel Muammar Gathafi’s social and welfare programmes in Libya are far greater than those implemented in neighbouring countries. Modern infrastructures have sprung up in recent years which aim to attract investment and bring added wealth and sustainable development to the citizens of Libya; Gathafi’s literacy programme has seen universal education become reality and since he took power in 1969, the life expectancy of Libyan citizens has risen by twenty years while infant mortality has decreased sharply.

    Gathafi represents the control of Libya’s resources by Libyans and for Libyans; literacy reached ten per cent of the population when he came to power. Today it is around 90 per cent. Women, today, have rights and can go to school and get a job. The standard of living is around 100 times greater than it was under the rule of King Idris I. The conclusion, therefore, is that Gathafi’s Libya is a different ball game from Tunisia and Egypt.
    http://english.pravda.ru/opinion/columnists/24-02-2011/117000-libya_surface-0/

  8. venezuela supports Gadaffi and ibya against revolts led by the terrorist: NFSL
    http://www.voltairenet.org/article168600.html

    The NFSL(national front for the Salvation of Libya) what you need to know:

    Libya, 84 The cia backed, trained and continues to support the exile
    Group that tried to assassinate qaddafi in 84. The plot failed and qaddafi
    Executed a number of the group. The cia-backed group is called the national
    Front for the salvation of libya (nfsl) and is led by gen youssef
    Magarieff. The saudis have provided $7 million to the nfsl. Cia agents
    Advised nfsl leaders and trained their recruits in western europe, sudan
    And morocco. Jack anderson washington post 6/12/85

    Libya, saudi arabia, 84 Despite an executive order forbidding
    Assassinations, the cia trained and supported the national front for the
    Salvation of libya before, during and after its attempt to assassinate
    Qaddafi on 5/8/84. The anti-qaddafi group was slaughtered in a day-long
    Battle less than a mile from the barracks where qaddafi was. Group’s
    Leader, youssef magarieff, went ahead with op to show his cia and saudi
    Arabian backers what they got for support. Jack anderson washington post
    11/8/85
    http://www.acorn.net/jfkplace/03/Test-CIA/LIBYA

  9. and FYI
    The Politics of Al Jazeera

    The Libyan government has shut down the internet and phone lines and an information war is underway. Although one of the most professional news networks in the world, it has to be cautioned that Al Jazeera is not a neutral actor. It is subordinate to the Emir of Qatar and the Qatari government, which is also an autocracy. By picking and choosing what to report, Al Jazeera’s coverage of Libya is biased. This is evident when one studies Al Jazeera’s coverage of Bahrain, which has been restrained due to political ties between the leaders of Bahrain and Qatar.

    Reports by Al Jazeera about Libyan jets firing on protesters in Tripoli and the major cities are unverified and questionable. [9] Hereto, the reports that Libyan jets have been attacking people in the streets have not been verified. No visual evidence of the jet attacks has been shown, while visual confirmation about other events have been coming out of Libya.

    Al Jazeera is not alone in its biased reporting from Libya. The Saudi media is also relishing the events in Libya. Asharq Al-Awsat is a Saudi-owned paper that is strictly aligned to U.S. interests in the Middle East-North Africa (MENA) region. Its editor-in-chief is now running editorials glorifying the Arab League for their decision to suspend Libya, because of the use of force by Tripoli against Libyans protesters – why were such steps not taken for Egypt, Tunisia, Bahrain, or Yemen? Inside and outside the Arab World, the mainstream media is now creating the conditions for some sort of intervention in Libya.
    http://www.globalresearch.ca/index.php?context=va&aid=23375

  10. Hi Machetera, I enjoyed your post and agree completely with it. I have no animosity towards Al despite the fact that my discussion on his blog of Golinger’s report of CONAIE infiltration ended with him smearing me and then editing out my response. I credit Al for bringing reporters like Mario Menendez to the attention of English-speaking readers and weathering the litigation that followed, and enjoy Bill Conroy’s reporting.

    I also agree that there is no daylight between Al and the views of ICNC. What motivates Al, in addition to any inferences people make about the effect of ICNC funding, is that Al is a hybrid journalist/ activist/ organizer who is loyal to the Democratic Party. He has stated his support and loyalty to Obama and the Democrats repeatedly, frequently praising “New” Democrats and former DLC members while throwing mud at any non-Democrats like Nader. The agency that Golinger referred to as funding CONAIE was a Democratic-affiliated group whose membership makes up a who’s who of prominent Democratic politicians.

    The leadership of the Democratic Party is attempting to undermine Chavez, Morales, and, it would appear, Correa. Giordano had been a cheerleader of Chavez and Morales during the Bush years but when Obama took office he changed his tune. While showing unshakable loyalty to Obama, even when events in Honduras made this loyalty awkward, he said after the ’08 election something to the effect of “there’s a time for elections and a time for governing.” Then when he’s suddenly criticizing South American leaders, he talks about Golinger’s preoccupation with “state power.” He has, since Obama’s Honduras policy began to take shape, used the tactic of blaming everything bad on Hillary even though Obama is the Commander-in-Chief.

    I certainly don’t read Golinger for critiques of Chavez but her information has consistently accurate and an important contrast to the other information that is out there. I’m not going to begin to try to guess at Al’s fixation here… can I help myself and not guess at… perhaps it involves some frustration of having his own spin credibly contradicted and other things that, ok I have stopped with this now.

    Also, I should say that I went to this site this evening for its coverage of Libya, and in reading and hearing in various places “It’s all one man. There is no administrative power sharing or lines of succession” while scrolling through this discussion I get confused “Are they talking about Libya or Narconews?”

    I’m willing to overlook that you’re psych ops for Calvin Klein, Best regards, Ian Keenan

  11. Machetera….Sorry to say, but your “Comments” section was more telling than the article.

    Egomania……When bloggers go bad. I’ll leave it up to your astute readers to identify the afflicted.

  12. Giordano complains about Golinger’s “State Journalism”. But did he ever read the garbage he has been writing about Obama since 2009. Some of the stuff is so ridiculous. His worshipping of Obama quite definitely counts as ‘State Journalism”.

    Look at this link
    http://narcosphere.narconews.com/thefield/biden-second-chance-the-everyman

    Giordano churns out praise for a disgusting creep like Biden, simply because Biden has been selected by Obama as running mate.

  13. Journalism of the state? Fair enough.

    What is your take on the US president these days, Al?

  14. I am shocked and appalled by the character assassination of Al Giordano, which is not only a hatchet job, but a hatchet, or machete, which totally misses its target. Machetera suggests that Al has a crush on Eva Gollinger, doesn’t get out much, never leaves his computer and is in serious need of some fun and physical contact. This is soooo not Al Giordano. You clearly have no idea who you are talking about. At 38, Eva Gollinger is waaaay too old for Al. But if writing about someone signifies crush or obsession, someone has the hots for Luis Clemente Faustino Posada Carriles, which is TOTALLY understandable. He’s kinda irresistible. I hate myself for crushing on him. I guess Al can be found in front of his computer when he’s not bringing out the best in people, dancing, drinking and/ or playing guitar, not necessarily in that order and sometimes doing all four at once. I guess he could get out more, but it’s hard and rude to go out while hosting a salon, political debate or dance party in your own home. See Emily Post. As for the lack of sense of humor, well, let’s just say that Al is the only goy I enjoy making Jew jokes with. And no, that doesn’t make him an anti-Semite. He’s an honorary Jew. And no, he’s not a zionist either, and neither am I, though the way the word is thrown around by many commenters leads me to think that zionist is basically code for Jew, in which case, guilty! But the point is I hate, hate, hate humorless lefties and would never go to any school or write for any website run by one. And because I’m so smart AND funny, as, let’s be honest, my people are wont to be, you’ll just have to trust me on that one. So the moral of this story is… don’t try to pin a misanthropic loner with mild Asperger’s, with no life and no sense of humor tail on a debaucherous, bacchanalian, whose hands are on drinks or strings more often than keys, donkey. Because it won’t stick… and will get margarita all over it.

Leave a Reply

