Cryin’ in Miami, Enjoyin’ in Havana – Charanga Habanera

Somebody in Machetera’s house can’t stand Charanga Habanera.  Well, they’re not totally Machetera’s favorite either…and let’s remember, they did record two versions of this song, one so the Cubans in Miami wouldn’t feel so bad (Crying Enjoying in Miami, Enjoying in Havana.)  Cultural sensitivity?  If you say so.  Walter Lippmann over at CubaNews has been agitating for the lyrics in English, so here you go, Walter – Machetera will take a pause from saving the world just to help you out.

Ladies and gentlemen, now from Cuba,

what is it with Cuba that we’re doing it in English

better let it go, in Spanish HELLO!

Tell me, how’d it go for you, did you find happiness?

tell me, how’s it going, I’m doing great here

while you’re there, hey babe! Charanga Habanera!

They say she feels good in Miami, that it’s crazy,

but what’s missing is Havana, the gossip, the deliciousness

They say she has money, the car she dreamed about

but she can’t find in Miami what she left behind in Havana!

Now I’m going to tell you something that happened to me,

I, who loved her so much, but she left and left me behind

Lachy! She wanted to be famous and win a Grammy

so she left on an airplane for Miami to try her luck

(David) Hey chacal, I heard you

they say she feels good in Miami, that it’s crazy, but what’s missing is Havana,

the gossip and the deliciousness, uh huh

they say she has money (a lie!), the car she dreamed about (a lie!)

but she can’t find in Miami what she left behind in Havana!

(Chacal raps…)

Honey, why you crying? Thanks to you I bought me a

computer…

If you left babe, you’re gonna suffer, what can you do?

what use is Mickey Mouse to you if you like Elpidio Valdes?

an Audi for me…

…and the money for you

to live the story, what a story, I’m still eating

soyburger but I’m content

(Chacal raps…)

(Dantes) …and now she calls me crying, she says she can’t find the way,

that she feels bad, that she misses everything about Cuba,

she misses Los Van Van, Hectico and PMM,

she misses La Charanga, and the guy she loved the most

(Randy mc) and I keep on Charanga-ing just the way I like

You crying in Miami, me enjoying Havana

you crying in Miami, me enjoying Havana

She’s sad because there’s no Capri or Tropicana there

you crying in Miami, me enjoying Havana

she misses my Havana Club and the Bucanero she used to drink

you crying in Miami, me enjoying Havana

How long, babe, ‘til when?

if you act like a yuma, you have to take a fall

how long babe, ‘til when?

if you act like a yuma, you gotta go down

Falling, falling falling

if you act like a yuma, you gotta go down

falling, falling falling

if you act like a yuma, you gotta go down

She’s speaking English with me and I don’t know what she’s saying

If you act like a yuma, you gotta go down

Ready, let’s enjoy!

Clap your hands everyone,

everyone sing!

Tell me, how’d it go, did you find

happiness?

Tell me, how’s it going, I’m doing great here

and you there, babe!

tell me, how’d it go, did you find

happiness?

Tell me, how’s it going, I’m doing great here

and you’re there, babe!

(Chacal) Hey sweetie, I’ll go my own way and won’t

change it for anything

that’s why I take care of myself, that’s why I keep on doing

what I want, what I really want!

from cuartel pavel, frank dos metra, repeat,

Walk so you can learn

this is so you can enjoy and not get on my case

Ok, ok, why do you want bread when I’ve got coffee cake?

get it?!

LYRICS – LETRAS

ladies & gentleman, now from cuba

que lo que hay con cuba pa’ que lo vamo hacer en ingles

mejor sueltalo en el español HELLO !

cuentame, como te ha ido si has conocido la felicidad

cuentame, como te va, yo por aqui my bien

y tu por alla que bola ! Charanga Habanera !

dicen que se siente bien que Miami es la locura,

pero le falta la Habana, el chisme y la sabrosura

dicen que tiene dinero, el carro que ella soño

pero no encuentra en Miami, lo que en la Habana dejo !

Ahora te voy a contar algo que me sucedio

yo que la queria tanto, pero se fue y me dejo

Lachy! queria hacerse famosa queria ganarse un Grammy

y salio a provarse su suerte avion destino Miami (David ) oye chacal ….. te oi

dicen que se siente bien que Miami es la locura,

pero le falta la Habana, el chisme y la sabrosura, si si

dicen que tiene dinero (¡mentira!), el carro que ella soño (¡mentira!)

pero no encuentra en Miami , lo que en la Habana dejo !

(rap chacal …………)

caridad, por que tu lloras si gracias a ti me compre la

computadora

si te fuiste sufre mami que le van hacer

De que te sirve micky mouse si te gusta elpidio valdes.

un audi pa mi…

…el lucrativo pa mi

pa que vivir de cuento que cuento , sigo comiendo picadillo pero contento

(rap chacal …………)

(Dantes) y ahora me llama llorando, dice que no encuentra el modo

que no se siente feliz, que de Cuba extraña todo

extraña a los van van, hectico y pmm

extraña a la charanga, y el papi que ella mas quiere

(Randy mc) yo sigo charangueando como me da la gana

tu llorando en Miami, yo gozando en la habana

tu llorando en Miami, yo gozando en la habana

se siente triste porque, alla no hay Capri ni Tropicana

tu llorando en Miami, yo gozando en la Habana

extrana mi Habana Club y la Bucanero que ella tomaba

tu llorando en Miami, yo gozando en la habana

hasta donde mami?, hasta cuando?

si te comportas como yuma, tu tienes que ir tumbando

hasta donde mami?, hasta cuando?

si te comportas como yuma tu tienes que ir bajando

tumbando , tumbando tumbando

si te comportas como yuma, tu tienes que ir bajando

tumbando , tumbando tumbando

si te comportas como yuma, tu tienes que ir bajando

ella esta hablando ingles conmigo y yo no se lo que esta hablando

si te comportas como yuma, tu tienes que ir bajando

y preparado , vamo a gozalo !

mano pa’ arriba to’ el mundo

vamo to’ el mundo a cantarlo!

cuentame , como te ha ido si has conocido la felicidad

cuentame , como te va, yo por aqui my bien

y tu por alla que bola !

cuentame , como te ha ido si has conocido la felicidad

cuentame , como te va, yo por aqui my bien

y tu por alla que bola !

(El Chacal )oye chula, yo sigo con lo mio y no lo cambio por nada

por eso me mantengo por eso sigo siendo lo que me da la gana,

la reverenda gana !

desde el cuartel pavel, frank dos metra, repeta,

camina pa que aprenda,

esto es pa que goces y no pa que ud me reprenda

ok ok pa que tu quieres pan si yo tengo cofi cake

copiaste !

6 responses to “Cryin’ in Miami, Enjoyin’ in Havana – Charanga Habanera

  1. Mil gracias, Machatera~

    You’d be surprised, or maybe not, to know that there are Cubans living here in La Yuma who miss their home country, and some of them are doing pretty well up here.

    This tune must be resonating with Cubans who’ve left the island wherever they live. Even my old novia now living in Switzerland has learned that the world afuera isn’t what she’d imagined when she married that foreigner to get a passport and get out of the island. Now she goes back as often as she can save the money.

    Again, thanks so much for your translation of this.

  2. Hi Machetera, thanks so much for posting this!

    Matt

  3. Well, it’s not the greatest thing I’ve ever heard out of Cuba (that would be Compay Segundo), but I can well believe that it’s really like that. Havana’s buildings may be in need of repairs and its cars may be caught in a time warp, but it’s still got a thousand times more character and class than anything in Florida. If I left a place like that for one of fast money and empty glitz, I’d be crying too.

  4. Buena!!!!

  5. DAYARA BALLINA

    But your Right Charanga We miss Cuba a lot.that the thru we never will fine here the thing we left over there EL CHISME Y LA SABROSURA

  6. You gotta be kidding me. Miami is more Cuban than Havana!

Leave a Reply

